Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Be Careful What You Wish For

How many times have I complained, whined, and wept over the room our unused pool table was taking up in my basement studio?

Well it's gone now and here's the problem ......

Holy crap! Where did that stuff come from? I need more shelves or cabinets.

I found one bag of Shetland fleece and two bags of Finn, so it has a silver lining!

So what does any self-respecting fibernut do?

She picks up a new loom, naturally. This is an handmade (1930-40) oak, counterbalance loom. I was hoping that I could use it for rugs, but it appears that the back beam can be folded in. I'm going to see if I can replace the support with something heavier and permanent. That might make it work. I still have to figure out how to attach the warp advancing mechanism and the break. I can see where it goes because I matched up the holes but I will have to fool around with it a bit. I also need to figure out how to tie up the harnesses.

It's All About Me!!!!
Disclaimer: I am the person who broke your recipe chain letter, along with the dishtowel one. However Marie tagged me and I always listen to Marie, so here goes!

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?
Hmm, well I had all four children at home. The youngest was fifteen which meant lots of driving, to baseball games, friends' homes, etc. I also had my whole summer off so my gardens looked beautiful and I had lots of time to knit and spin. Dyeing and weaving hadn't entered my life yet.

2. What were five things on my to-do list today (not in any particular order)?
(1) Pick up Jackson after school. Play, crawl on the floor, act like a fool!
(2) Convert console table to shelves for cones of weaving yarn.
(3) Plan dyeing experiments for Sunday.
(4) Do arms routine before flab hanging from my upper arms knocks someone over.
(5) Weed.

3. What snacks do I enjoy?
Mango salsa with tortilla chips. Roasted pepper hummus. Anything salty.

4. Where are some places I've lived?
I was born in Rome, NY. I moved to Japan as a baby and lived there for two years. Then on to the Mojave Desert (Camp Irwin). My father retired from the army and after a quick stay in Oswego, NY we settled in Phoenixville, PA. As an adult I've lived in Phoenixville, Middlesex NJ, Troy MI, Boulder CO, finally settling in Audubon for the past 20 years.

5. What things would I do if I were a billionaire?
Pay off all of my children's student loans and pay for any future educational advancement for my kids and grandchildren. Quit my jobs and spend my time with family and fiber. I would be happy to stay where I am with a few upgrades - like a crew to do the heavy digging and garden prep and a nice sunny studio addition.

Consider yourself tagged! (so I don't listen all that well)


  1. Better photo of the loom???

  2. Great save on that newly emptied floor space!